Agricultural Advisory Committee


Committee Purpose

The Agricultural Advisory Committee was established by the Town Board in March of 2017. The Committee is populated by farmers, agricultural professionals, and those with ties to local agriculture. Their main focus is the implementation of the Agricultural Enhancement Plan that was adopted by the Town Board in December 2016. 

Meeting Schedule

The Ag Committee meets on the second Thursday of each month at 6pm via Zoom and in-person in the Ogarita Room on the main level of Town Hall. Meetings are open to the public. Meeting schedules are subject to change - changes will be posted to the Town Calendar. Call 585-394-1120 with questions about the committee or the meeting schedule. Zoom details are as follows:

Link to Join Zoom Meeting   

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 840 5769 5170
Passcode: 889699

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes

Town of Canandaigua Agricultural Enhancement Plan

Ontario County Agricultural Enhancement Plan

Eat Local!

Town Ag Producer Directory

Ontario County Local Food Guide

Canandaigua Farmers Market


Purchase of Development Rights (PDR) 

The PDR is a conservation easement program available to farmland owners through the NY State Department of Agriculture and Markets Farmland Protection Implementation Grant (FPIG) program. The Town of Canandaigia submits PDR application packages on behalf of interested, qualified landowners to Ag & Markets during open FPIG windows every two years. Information on the next application period will be linked below when it becomes available. 


Soil Conservation - Protection of Agricultural Land

The history of soil protection, and the importance of understanding the value of fertile soils has been an important consideration for many years.  The Town of Canandaigua Agricultural Advisory Committee routinely evaluates soil composition in the Town when reviewing projects, and potential Purchase of Development Rights (PDR) Programs.  The following video by the USDA shares more information about the importance of soil, and why our Town Agricluture Committee is so concerned about protecting our valuable soils for generations to come.



Committee Members

Email the committee

  • Bob DiCarlo, Chairperson
  • Fernando Soberon, Vice Chairperson
  • Tim Riley
  • Samantha Stryker
  • Tim Stryker
  • (vacant)
  • (vacant)

Staff Liaison, Sarah Reynolds

Secretary, Kim Burkard

Rules of Procedure

Maps and Resources

Protected Agricultural Land

Strategic Farmland Protection Area

Cornell Cooperative Extension of Ontario County

NY State Dept. of Ag & Markets

USDA-Farm Services Agency

‚ÄčCornell Cooperative Ext. Presentation: Agricultural Economic Development in Ontario County


Be Informed! Click here to receive town news, information, and updates via email.