Click "Details" below for updates regarding COVID-19 and Town Operations
Town Hall, Town Court, Playgrounds, Beaches, B-ball/tennis/volleyball courts are Open. Please use email to contact staff  Details

Town Government

A History of Town Governance


Town Government

A Town Supervisor is an elected position and acts as the administrator of the Town and represents the interests of the Town on the Ontario County Board of Supervisors. There is an election held for this position every four years.

The Town Board consists of five elected members, including the Town Supervisor, each serving four-year terms. Town board meetings are held once per month. The Town Clerk handles the State licensing requirements.

The Planning Board is a five member appointed body which meets twice each month to review site plans, subdivisions and grant special permits. 

The Town established zoning laws in 1961. The Zoning Board of Appeals meets once a month to hear petitions for zoning variances.

The Town Assessor estimates the value of property within the limits of the Town.

Three school districts serve the residents of the Town, Canandaigua, Bloomfield, and Naples, and there are six polling districts. According to the 2000 census, the Town's population was 7,649 and in 2010 it had grown to 10,020.


Tuesday 9:00am - 1:00pm
Wednesday 9:00am - 1:00pm
and by appointment

Mailing Address:
5440 Route 5 & 20 West
Canandaigua, NY 14424

Please send reference materials to:


Ray Henry

Town Historian

 (585) 944-1506

 (585) 394-9476
 Email Ray Henry

    Town Calendar

Be Informed! Click here to receive town news, information, and updates via email.